top of page
Search
  • Vagabond

A happy refuge from the other side

Who would not want to live a peaceful life if they had the chance?



As-salamu alaikum. My name is Ayenullah and I'm an Imam at the Masjid alotted to be by the locals, an immigrant by definition, but not by title. Where do I begin? I'm an old man but of course there was a time when my legs worked properly, and they had to as well where I came from. I migrated from Afghanistan just before the Soviet invasion of Afghanistan reached its peak. I was in Dara Adamkhel when my family reached Pakistan as well but I've lived in Saddar, Namakmandii, Regi, and Barha as well. Back in those days, immigration was not as difficult as it is today with the tight security checks and global tension, all I had was my pass and the very basic belongings required to make the journey. It was the people of this place (Jamrud) who took me in and gave me a home and work in the Masjid. My parents had passed away and I was hopeless when I made my journey. Being alone in a new land made my young soul tremble. The scenery was all familiar. Dry mountains, the ragged terrain, the harsh sun, it was not as if I'd traveled to a new land, but isolation made it feel like I was half way across the globe.



''I want to make clear that I am eternally in debt to my brothers here in Jamrud for that they have done for me, but I never begged or plead them for anything, it was their kindness that allowed for my second chance at life.''




After the locals helped me settle, I got married and suddenly with the help of my wife and kids, the unfamiliar land started feeling all the more familiar again.


To the people who voice their concerns regarding immigration, they seem to be out of empathy in my eyes. As much as I would love to renew my passport to be able to cross through the Torkham border, the immigration council asks for so much money that I simply can not afford to go through with the ordeal. Also, I've never felt like leaving this place, I've lived here longer than I have in Afghanistan. I would not prefer to breathe in any other land than my own, and this is very much my home.




My connections with the people of this place are the strongest ties I've ever made. To the people who seem to call people like myself invasive or leeches, I want to make clear that I am eternally in debt to my brothers here in Jamrud for that they have done for me, but I never begged or plead them for anything, it was their kindness that allowed for my second chance at life. It is kindness, kindness and perspective that people forget when thinking of immigration. It is in our nature to look for means to survive in whichever scenario we are thrown in. Who would not want to live a peaceful life if they had the chance?


Immigration is an organic process, it does not matter what name people give it, but we are not so hard wired by national territories as we are by compassion and willpower. People go to the US or China or wherever to climb the ladder of wealth and economic prosperity. On the other hand, all I wanted was to live and have my own family and by the grace of Allah I have both. If that is a crime in the modern world then I am guilty, but so is everyone else who ever dreams of peace.

0 views0 comments
bottom of page