top of page
Search
  • Vagabond

Pakistan: the land of opportunities, hospitality and love

Pakistan or Nigeria right? Wrong. Pakistan 'and' Nigeria, both my home, both my family.



''I just wanted to learn enough to order a plate of daal maash at every restaurant I went to, from there towards tea and knowing enough words to compliment and return the favor of the people who would treat me to such wonderful food. ''

Nigeria or Pakistan? I don't want to get right into it now, have to keep the readers interested you know? My name is Abiola Moshood. I'm an actor, entrepreneur, comedian, the last one I'm most proud of obviously, who wouldn't be?

I came to Pakistan a few years back and while the language barrier did hinder my ability to communicate with the people, it did not stop them from relinquishing their title of being the most hospitable people I've ever met. Strangers greeting you at every turn with a smile, taking photographs and not to mention the free cups of tea everyone offers you. By now I'm very fluent in Urdu "mere yaar" but I can also speak a little bit of Pashto as well.




At first I just wanted to learn enough to order a plate of daal maash at every restaurant I went to, from there towards tea and knowing enough words to compliment and return the favor of the people who would treat me to such wonderful food.


Pakistani people, if I had to describe them in a single word I would say they're very emotional. The softest and kindest of hearts all the while carrying a flame so bright that you'd better think twice before becoming a cricketer in this country. I'm not kidding, the biggest of fans and the biggest of critics, both at the same time, they're not shy when it comes to voicing their concerns. Jokes aside, I myself am quite fond of boxing. The constant challenge of trying to get better week in week out, there's nothing more exhilarating out there.




My passion of traveling and meeting people of different cultures and backgrounds is what keeps me busy here. There are so many different ethnic groups here but you don't notice it at first since everyone is living together in such harmony most of the time. Their accents, clothing, food, even the way they make their tea, it's all so unique that it makes you wonder how little you know of the place, how many cultures are still there for me to experience first hand in this treasure of a country.


The people here are far more patriotic than those back in Nigeria. They are more aware of their history and so many I've met that are willing to put their life on the line to preserve it. I'm sure you would too if I was to ask you here wouldn't you?

Naturally though, people aren't very aware of my background as I'm just as much a stranger to them as they were to me when I first came here. This one time I was praying in a Mosque and this man, who kept looking at me from afar, finally came to me and asked me if I'm a Muslim. I don't know what part of praying he didn't get, maybe it was just yoga when I did it eh? I'm just messing with you. I joked around with him a little and he found the funny side in it as well and wished me good luck in my adventures here, and of course offering me a cup of tea. Which of course I could not decline.


Looking back, of course I miss my family back home. The land where I grew up, the people that were with me, all of them are still just as important to me as they have always been. Only difference is that I've made a lot more family and friends here as well. Remember you asked me? Pakistan or Nigeria right? Wrong. Pakistan 'and' Nigeria, both my home, both my family. How about a cup of tea then?


13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page